With more than 13 million drivers on the road, Florida ranks number three on the list of states with the most registered drivers. To keep Florida motorists safe, the state has enacted a number of auto insurance and DUI laws as well as special driving laws for teens. For starters, Florida DUI laws state that all drivers must carry minimum auto liability insurance in the amount of 10/20/10. This translates to $10,000 for bodily injury for one person, $20,000 for bodily injury to two or more people, and $10,000 property damage liability (10/20/10). Florida residents must purchase a policy from a carrier licensed by the state of Florida.
When it comes to DUI laws, the state of Florida operates under an “implied consent” law. Under this law, by signing your license, you give your consent to a blood, breath, chemical, or urine or breath test upon request by an officer of the law. Under the implied consent law, refusal to submit to a test will result in automatic license suspension for up to 12 months. If caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you will be fined $250-$500, spend up to 6 months in jail, and your license will be suspended for no less than 6 months. Florida DUI offenders also face up to 12 months’ probation, up to 50 hours of community service, and a minimum of 12 hours in a DUI program. Not only this, but Florida DUI convictions become a part of your driving record for a whopping 75 years.
Teen drivers face harsh penalties for non-compliance with Florida teen driving laws as well. When it comes to drinking and driving, Florida has a zero tolerance policy for teens. Teen DUIs carry a 6-month license suspension, fines ranging from $250-$5,000, and even jail time in a juvenile detention center. Fortunately, most Florida teens would rather pass on the partying than risk losing their precious license. Florida does not make it easy for teens to obtain a license. Florida teen drivers must hold a learner’s license for one full year before applying for a restricted license. And before obtaining a learner’s license teens must be at least 15 years of age, complete a driver education course, pass a vision and written test, pass a substance abuse and traffic law course, and obtain parental consent.
All Florida teen drivers must keep a clean driving record in order to qualify for an unrestricted license at the age of 18. If the teen receives even one citation, whether it’s for truancy, DUI or curfew violations, unrestricted licensing could be delayed for up to 12 months.
For more information about Florida Driving laws, Florida driving statistics, and more, please visit:
Florida_Auto_Insurance – AutoInsuranceTips.com
http://www.iii.org/media/facts/statsbyissue/auto/ – Insurance Information Institute (website)
http://www.flhsmv.gov/ – Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
http://www.census.gov/ – United States Census Bureau